HAA Student Prize Winners AY 21-22

May 27, 2022
From left to right: Paul Tamburro, Wendy Yu, Kelsey Chen, Professor Felipe Pereda

Please join us in celebrating this years student prize winners from HAA.  

The Matthew Abramson '96 Prize for Best Senior Thesis in History of Art and Architecture - Congratulations to Paul Tamburro, who won for his senior thesis Orality and the Maya “Scribe”: Reading Reading Back into the Picture. The Matthew Abramson '96 Prize is awarded by faculty vote of the Department of History of Art and Architecture to the one student of this department whose thesis has been determined as "Best Senior Thesis" as based primarily upon the combined numerical score of the grades submitted by all readers, with subsequent discussion and vote in the department honors meeting. Paul also received the Glynn Isaac Prize for his thesis.

The Claire Martin Fairman History of Art and Architecture Undergraduate Thesis Prize - Congratulations to Kelsey Chen for her senior thesis Things Adrift: A Vital Materialist Account of Trinh Mai’s Bone of My Bone as Feminist Refuge-Making Craft. The Fairman Prize is awarded to that senior thesis which is found, by faculty vote, to be most worthy, and of a topic focusing on modern art. Kelsey won many additional prestigious awards for her thesis, including the Thomas Temple Hoopes Prize, the Bowdoin Prize for Undergraduate Essays in the English Language, the Sophia Freund Prize, the Seymour E. and Ruth B. Harris Dunster House Prize, and the Alexis de Tocqueville Prize in Social Studies.

James Sloss Ackerman Senior Thesis Prize in Architecture - Congratulations to Wendy Yu who won for her senior thesis Toilet Tales: Decoding and Encoding Social Scripts Within the Public Restroom. The prize is awarded, by a vote of the Faculty, to a senior thesis of the highest merit on a topic in the history, theory, and/or design of architecture.